Connect with us

U.S. News

One candidate files to run for Plano City Council in May 1 election



PLANO, TX – One candidate has filed to run for Plano City Council since filing opened Jan. 13.

The council’s places 2, 4 and 6—the mayoral seat—and Place 8 are scheduled to be on the ballot in May.

John Muns, the chair of the Plano Planning & Zoning Commission, officially filed to run for the Place 6 mayoral seat Jan. 15, the city secretary’s office shared.

Place 7 will also be placed on the May 1 ballot as a special election, according to City Secretary Lisa Henderson. This comes after Lily Bao announced her intention to run for mayor—and therefore her resignation from her council place with a term set to finish in 2023—at a Jan. 11 City Council meeting.

Currently, Place 6 is held by Mayor Harry LaRosiliere, and Place 4 is held by Mayor Pro Tem Kayci Prince. Deputy Mayor Pro Tem Anthony Ricciardelli represents Place 2, and Council Member Rick Smith represents Place 8.

LaRosiliere was elected to his second and final mayoral term in 2017. Prince, Ricciardelli and Smith were each elected to their first council terms in 2017.

No other official filings have been fully processed and posted by the city of Plano as of 4:20 p.m. Jan. 15. The candidate filing period will end Feb. 12.

The special election for Place 7 will be called at a Feb. 8 City Council meeting. Candidate packets will be available for the unexpired term beginning Feb. 9, Henderson said.

Plano City Council has eight seats. Candidates running for Places 1-4 must reside in the district in which they are running, though all council members are elected on an at-large basis.

Plano council members are limited to two four-year terms. Plano mayors may serve a maximum of two four-year terms, even after serving as a council member.