Connect with us

U.S. News

Who’s filed to run: Plano City Council Place 7 special election candidate filing period opens



PLANO, TX – A special election for Plano City Council Place 7 will join the four other council races on the ballot for May 1. Four candidates have filed for the open seat so far.

Candidates include Bill Lisle III, who previously challenged Plano Mayor Harry LaRosiliere in a 2017 campaign and ran for City Council Place 1 in 2019.

Entrepreneur Julie Holmer has filed as a candidate for the Place 7 seat, as has real estate consultant Sandeep Srivastava.Veteran Chris Robertson is the most recent candidate to filed for the open seat as of Feb. 26.

Former Council Member David Smith announced his run for Place 7 on Feb. 10, and India Campbell also confirmed to Community Impact Newspaper her intention to run for Place 7. Smith and Campbell have not filed as of Feb. 26, according to the city’s candidate postings.

Filing for Place 7 opened Feb. 9 and will close March 1 at 5 p.m.

Plano City Council has eight seats. Candidates running for Places 1-4 must reside in the district in which they are running, though all council members are elected on an at-large basis.

Prospective candidates are required to file an application, a nomination form and a petition with a minimum of 139 signatures for a place on the ballot, according to city of Plano filing information.

The special election will be held in conjunction with races for Places 2, 4, 6—the mayoral seat—and 8 as well as with the vote on bond propositions. Early voting will run from April 19-27, and election day is May 1.

The candidate list below will be updated regularly through the filing deadline. Candidates are listed in alphabetic order by last name.

City Council, Place 7

Julie Holmer

Bill Lisle III

Chris Robertson

Sandeep Srivastava